Profile, group, and photo visibility

  • You may have heard of the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), the upcoming changes to the European Union data protection law that become effective on May 25, 2018. Its purpose is to harmonize data protection laws across the EU, give people in the EU enhanced rights to their data, and require businesses to meet certain technical and organizational controls around their collection and processing of personal information.

    Meetup has made changes in line with these new standards that we will roll out to members globally.

     

    Meetup's commitment to privacy and data security

    Meetup remains committed to protecting our members’ privacy and data security. As part of that commitment, we’ve updated our Privacy Policy effective May 25, 2018, for all members globally. These changes provide:

    • Details on how we use your information, such as your location and other platform activity, and the choices and controls available to you.

    • Responsibilities for businesses that process personal information, such as asking consent for marketing communications.

    • Opportunities to request more information about the data we store, or to modify it.

    One of the important ways that Meetup respects our members’ privacy is by offering options for whether a group is Public or Private. In a Private Meetup, some information is hidden from search engines and other members. In response to the GDPR, we’re adding a clear privacy label to group information, and making sure members are informed if a group that they belong to changes its privacy status.

    We’re taking other steps to be more transparent. For example, we have updated our privacy policy to detail how and why we collect some data, and we will be implementing additional platform notices and articles to remind our members of this.

    About General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR)
  • Meetup groups have two Content Visibility settings: Public and Private. These settings determine how much of a group’s content and membership information is visible to non-members and search engines. For more information about Meetup content and search engines, please see here

    Information that is always visible, no matter the Content Visibility setting:

    • Meetup group title and description

    • Meetup event titles, dates, times, and the number of members attending

    • Username and photo of the organizer

    • Number of members in the Meetup group

    • Topics associated with the Meetup group

    • Meetup group reviews

    • Names of the group organizers—including co-organizers and assistant organizers on the Leadership Team

    For Private groups, the following information is hidden from non-members and search engines:

    • The usernames and profile information of the group’s members, including answers to profile questions requested by the organizer

    • The location for past and upcoming Meetups 

    • The event descriptions for past and present Meetups
    • The Meetup group’s photo albums

    • The Meetup group’s Discussions section

    Making a group private is a permanent change. Once a group is changed to private, it cannot be made public again.

    When an organizer changes the Content Visibility settings of their Meetup group, Meetup group members will be alerted via email notification.

    If a member does not feel comfortable sharing the information that is visible for public groups, they have the option to leave the Meetup group by following the instructions in our Help Center, here.

    Members can also choose to hide their memberships and interests from their profile pages. However, membership and profile information of members in public groups are still visible to non-members and search engines. You can read more about your account privacy settings, here.

    Meetup Group Content Visibility Settings
  • Note: Any personal information listed on a public Meetup page is visible to search engines. For more information about Meetup content and search engines, please see here

    What can people see on my Meetup profile?
    Everyone (Meetup member or not) can see:
    - Your first name
    - Your account location
    - Your profile photo 
    - Your ‘Member since’ date
    - The list of Meetup groups you belong to (if they’re not hidden)
    - Your interests (if they’re not hidden)

    What can people see on my group profile if the Meetup group is public?
    Everyone (group member or not) can see:
    - Your first name
    - Your account location
    - Your profile photo 
    - Your ‘Member since’ date
    - Your list of other Meetup groups you belong to (if they’re not hidden)
    - Your interests (if they’re not hidden)
    - Your group bio and answers to profile questions

    For more information about Meetup Group Content Visibility Settings, please see here

    What can people see on my group profile if the Meetup is private?
    - Only members of that group will be able to see your profile. Non-members cannot access the ‘Members’ page or specific member profiles.

    To edit your one-on-one message or profile privacy settings:

    Desktop & mobile web
    - Go to your Privacy Settings page
    - Select the dropdown menu next to Who can contact you on the site?
    - Check or un-check the boxes beside Show Meetup groups on profile and Show interests on profile
    - Click Save to update your preferences

     
    Account privacy and message settings
  • Search engines crawl and record billions of public web pages, including Meetup.com.

    If you list your full name or other information about you in your Meetup profile or on any public page on the Meetup site, search engines can see it.

    If you find search engine results pointing to personal information on Meetup that you don't want to be publicly visible, edit the information on the Meetup site.

    To edit your personal information, visit your Account page.

    Once you've edited or removed your information, it will no longer appear on the Meetup site. 

    However, this information may still appear in search results as cached versions of Meetup pages. Search engines will update their memory of these pages the next time they crawl the Meetup site. When that happens, the search engine will replace their old copy of the page with personal info on it with the latest version which does not contain personal info.

    We can't control exactly when Google or any other search engine will update their results, but it's usually within 30 days.


    If you'd like more information about removing content from Google's search index, check here.

    Visibility on Google
  • If you would like a photograph of yourself removed from the Meetup site, your best option is to contact the person who posted the pictures. If this does not resolve the situation, you should contact the group's organizer.

    To contact an organizer:

    Via Desktop & Mobile Web

    1. Navigate to the Meetup group's page.
    2. Scroll down to the Members section.
    3. Select Message next to the organizer’s name.

    Android app

    1. Navigate to the Meetup group's page.
    2. Tap on the V Arrow icon to reveal the group's description and organizer.
    3. Tap the Message icon to contact the organizer.

    iOS app

    1. Navigate to the Meetup group's page.
    2. Tap About us to reveal the group's description.
    3. Tap Message icon to contact the organizer.
    How to remove a photo
Meetup Organization Network logo

Want to learn more in person. Join the orgaizer network and see if there is a real life Meetup happening around you. There be people who have done this before, ready to help and you can be part of something special.

Join the org network