For Meetup Pro network admins using the sponsorship model, some of the groups in their network are owned and organized by local organizers.
If an admin decides to remove a group that they do not organize from their network, they'll stop covering the organizing costs of that group. The group will be removed from the admin's Pro Dashboard and they will no longer have access to any data relevant to the events and members of the removed group.
What happens to the group?
Here's what the group's local organizer can expect:
- Their sponsored subscription will be canceled.
- Their account will enter a two-week grace period, during which they can set up their own new subscription and continue organizing the group.
- If they don't do so, Meetup will invite the group's leadership team and members to step up.
- If no one steps up, the group will automatically close.
Closing a Meetup group is permanent. The group's information -- including photos, discussions, member lists, and event history -- will be removed from Meetup.
Read more about what happens when an organizer's subscription is canceled.
How do I remove a group from my network?
If you're a Pro network admin and you'd like to remove or close a group in your sponsored network, please submit a request to a Pro Support specialist.
Pro administrators cannot close groups that are not part of their network.