Meetup groups can have two content visibility settings: public or private. These settings determine how much of a group’s content and membership information is visible to non-members and search engines. Learn more about Meetup content and search engines.
Information that is always visible for public and private groups:
- Group title and description
- Event titles, dates, times, and the number of members attending
- Username and photo of the organizer
- Number of members in the group
- Topics associated with the group
- Group reviews
- Names of the group organizers (including co-organizers and assistant organizers on the Leadership Team)
The following information is hidden from non-members and search engines:
- The usernames and profile information of the group’s members, including answers to profile questions requested by the organizer
- The location for past and upcoming events
- The event descriptions for past and present events
- The group’s photo albums
- The group’s Discussions section
Anyone can join a private group, unless the organizer sets up member approval measures.
Changing a group’s content visibility
Making a group private is a permanent change. Once a group is changed to private, it cannot be made public again. Learn how to edit your group's content visibility.
When an organizer changes the content visibility settings of their group, group members will be alerted via email notification. If a member does not feel comfortable sharing the information that is visible for public groups, they have the option to leave the group.
Hiding other visible content
You can choose to hide your group membership and hide your interests from your profile pages. However, in public groups, membership and profile information of members is still visible to non-members and search engines. Learn more about your account privacy settings.