• An event photo album is a crowdsourced memory bank for a group. Albums are a great way to share memories with other members and give potential members an idea of what a group's events look like. 

    Creating an event photo album

    When an event is scheduled a photo album is created automatically. Group organizers, co-organizers, and assistant organizers can create new photo albums from the Photos section of the group as well. All members can upload photos to an album but cannot create a new album.

    Upload a photo to an event album

    All photos should be under 10MB in size and in JPG or PNG format. If an uploaded photo does not appear immediately, please wait a few minutes before trying again.

    Desktop & Mobile Web

    1. From your Meetup group’s homepage, click Events.
    2. To upload photos of an event you’ve already attended, click Past.
    3. Click on the event to which you want to add your photos.
    4. Scroll down to Photos, and click Add Photos.

    Android App

    1. Navigate to the Meetup group's page.
    2. Under the "Meetups" section, tap See all Meetups.
    3. Select the Meetup event from the Upcoming or Past tab.
    4. Under the "Photos" section, tap Add Photos.
    5. Select Take a photo or Select photo from the pop-up menu.
    6. Select your photo, add a caption, and tap the Checkmark icon.

    iOS App

    1. Navigate to the Meetup group's page.
    2. Under the "Meetups" section, tap See all.
    3. Select the Meetup event from the Upcoming or Past tab.
    4. Under the "Photos" section, tap Add Photos.
    5. Select Take a photo or Select photo from the pop-up menu.
    6. Select your photo, add a caption, and tap Post.
    Uploading photos of an event
  • Note: On the Android and iOS apps, it’s only possible to remove photos that have been uploaded to albums.

    Not all pictures turn out great. Maybe you were having a not-so-photogenic day, or you just want to change things up with your Meetup group and start fresh. Whatever the reason, you have the ability to remove any photo you upload to a Meetup group photo album. Don’t worry about another member deleting your memories; only the organizers and co-organizers can remove photos that aren’t their own.

    Photos removed from an album are removed permanently. The only way to retrieve them is for the owner of the photo to re-upload them.

    To remove a photo from an album:

    Desktop Web

    1. From your Meetup group’s homepage, select Photos
    2. Open the album that contains the photo you want to remove
    3. Click the photo you’d like to remove
    4. Above the photo, click Delete
    5. Confirm by clicking Yes, I’m Sure

    Mobile Web

    1. From your Meetup group’s homepage, select Photos
    2. Open the album that contains the photo you want to remove
    3. From the thumbnails, choose the photo you want to remove
    4. Select the three dots icon and choose Delete
    5. Confirm Delete this photo? with the Delete button

    Android App

    1. From your Meetup group’s homepage, scroll down to Group Calendar
    2. Tap See all
    3. Tap on the Meetup album that contains the photo you want to remove
    4. Tap on the photo
    5. Tap on the three dots icon in the upper right-hand corner
    6. Select Delete from the drop-down menu
    7. In the pop-up message that appears, tap Delete to confirm

    iOS App

    1. From your Meetup group’s homepage, scroll down to the "Meetups" section and tap See all
    2. Select Upcoming or Past Meetups
    3. Tap the Meetup event album that contains the photo you want to remove
    4. Tap the photo
    5. Tap the three dots icon in the upper right-hand corner
    6. In the pop-up message that appears, tap Delete to confirm
    Removing photos from an album
  • When an organizer schedules a new Meetup event, a photo album for that event is created automatically. All group members can add photos to albums and can tag other group members in the photos.

    If a member has been tagged in a photo and prefers to remove the tag, they’re welcome to do so.

    Note: It is not currently possible to tag or untag photos from the Android or iOS apps or from the Mobile website. Members can only tag others and untag themselves from the Desktop website.

    To tag a member in a photo:

    1. Go to the group’s homepage
    2. Select Photos and choose the desired album
    3. Select the photo you want to tag someone in
    4. Click Tag this photo
    5. Click on individuals’ faces and type their name into the text box
    6. Click Done to save your changes

    To untag yourself from a photo:

    1. Go to the group's homepage
    2. Go to your group profile and select Tagged Photos under your profile photo (You can also go directly to the album if you know which photos you’re tagged in).
    3. Find the photo you want to be untagged from and click Edit tags next to your name
    4. Under “In this photo” click the x next to your name and then click the x next to your face to confirm the removal



    Adding photo tags
Meetup Organization Network logo

Want to learn more in person. Join the orgaizer network and see if there is a real life Meetup happening around you. There be people who have done this before, ready to help and you can be part of something special.

Join the org network