• Messages are a great way to get in touch with members and organizers. Just remember to keep each message personal and unique.

    To send a message to another member:

    1. Go to the profile of the member you’d like to contact.
    2. Click the message icon next to the member’s name.
    3. Compose your message and hit Send.

    If a member’s message button is not clickable or missing, they may have privacy settings that prevent you from messaging them.

    To receive message alerts instantly, ensure you have the latest versions of our mobile app. It is not currently possible to delete messages, but you can archive them

    How do I send a message to another member?
  • Note: It is not possible to mute private, one-on-one messages.

    If you want to take a break from a group message but don’t want to leave it entirely, muting will disable notifications for that conversation. You’ll still be able to access and reply to the conversation from your Messages; we just won’t alert you when there are updates. When you’re ready to re-enable notifications, you can un-mute a group message at any time.

    Desktop & Mobile Web

    1. From your Messages page, select the group message you wish to mute
    2. Click on the three dots icon [insert three dots icon] next to the names of the members
    3. Select Mute from the menu

    Android & iOS App

    1. Tap the Messages icon
    2. Tap the group message you’d like to mute
    3. Tap the ... three dots icon in the upper right-hand corner
    4. Select Mute
    How do I mute a group message?
  • Note: It is not currently possible to delete a message.

    An organized inbox is a happy inbox. As you become more active on Meetup, you’ll find yourself receiving more messages, and archiving old or finished messages can really help keep your inbox clean.

    Archiving a message moves it out of your inbox and into a separate folder. You can access archived messages in the Archive tab.

    If you resume a conversation that was previously archived, we’ll automatically move it back into your inbox so you don’t miss any replies. You can also manually unarchive a message at any time.

    To archive a message:

    Desktop & Mobile Web

    1. From your Messages page, select the message you want to archive.
    2. Click on the three dots icon in the upper right-hand corner of the message.
    3. Select Archive from the menu.

    Android App

    1. Tap the Messages icon.
    2. Tap on the message you want to archive.
    3. Tap the three dots icon in the upper right-hand corner.
    4. Tap Archive conversation.

    To unarchive a message:

    1. Tap the Archived messages icon in the upper right-hand corner.
    2. Select the message.
    3. Tap the ... three dots icon in the upper right-hand corner.
    4. Tap Unarchive conversation.

    iOS App

    1. Tap the Messages icon.
    2. Tap the message you want to archive.
    3. Tap the three dots icon in the upper right-hand corner.
    4. Tap Archive.

    To unarchive a message:

    1. Tap the "Archived messages" section.
    2. Select the message.
    3. Tap the ... three dots icon in the upper right-hand corner.
    4. Tap Unarchive.
    How do I archive messages?
  • We get it: some group messages get chatty or stray onto a tangent you don’t feel like following. That’s why we give you the option to leave a group whenever you like.

    Once you leave a group message, you won’t receive any further messages or notifications for that group, and the message history will no longer appear in your inbox. Keep in mind, though, that you will only be able to rejoin the message if someone from that conversation adds you back.

    Desktop/Mobile Web

    1. From your Messages page, select the group message you want to leave
    2. Click on the three dots icon to the right of the participant names
    3. Select Leave from the menu

    Android/iOS App

    1. Tap on the Messages icon
    2. Tap on the group message you’d like to leave
    3. Tap the three dots icon in the upper right-hand corner
    4. Select Leave
    How do I leave a group message?
  • Connecting with the other members of your Meetup group is a great way stay informed and get involved (not to mention make new friends.) There are a few different ways to get in touch with your fellow Meetup members, depending on who you’re trying to contact.

    For a member to contact an organizer:

    Via Desktop & Mobile Web

    • Go to the Meetup group’s homepage.
    • Select Message next to the organizer’s photo.
    • Compose your message and select Send.

    On Android & iOS Apps

    • Go to your Meetup group’s homepage
    • Scroll down until you see Organized by…
    • Tap Contact

    For an organizer to contact a member:

    Via Desktop & Mobile Web

    • From your Meetup group’s homepage, select Manage group.
    • Choose Contact members
    • Compose your message and Submit

    On Android & iOS Apps

    • Go to your Meetup group’s page
    • Tap the three dots icon in the upper right-hand corner
    • Select Contact members from the pop-up menu
    • Compose your message and Send

    For a member to contact another member:

    1. Go to the profile of the member you’d like to contact
    2. Click the message icon next to the member’s name
    3. Compose your message and Send
    Contacting other members
  • If you’d like the option to reply to messages via email, all you have to do is enable email notifications for messages. By default, notifications are enabled, but you can double check in your account settings.

    When a member sends you a message, you’ll receive an email notification from messages@meetup.com. You can reply directly to this email, and we’ll notify the recipient of your response with a message, visible to both you and the member(s) you’re responding to on the site and in the app.

    Other Meetup notification emails (new group announcements, reminders, etc.) arrive from info@meetup.com. This email address is not monitored and is used only for automated outgoing email notifications. If you receive a notification from info@meetup.com and want to respond, check the email for a link to the sender's Meetup profile. From there, click on the sender's name to visit their profile and send them a message.

    How do I reply to messages via email?
  • More socially acceptable than a megaphone in a public space, and probably more effective: make your Meetup easy to find by sharing your location privately with other members when you arrive.

    To do this, start at your Meetup Messages on the Android or iOS app:

    Android App

    1. Tap the Messages tab.
    2. Start a new message by tapping the icon.
    3. Enter the names of the members you want to receive your location.
    4. Tap the pin icon to the left of the text box.
    5. Tap Share location to send your location.

    iOS App

    1. Tap the Messages tab.
    2. Start a new message by tapping the icon.
    3. Enter the names of the members you want to receive your location then tap Done.
    4. Tap the pin icon to the left of the text box.
    5. Tap Share to send your location.

    When you share your location, recipients will see the following:

    sharemylocation.jpg

    Just like any Meetup message, only those members you choose will be able to see your shared location.

    Important Note about Group Conversations: if you share your location in a group conversation, anyone who joins the conversation later will still be able to see your shared location on the map.

    For your safety, it’s best to avoid using this tool when you are in a private location such as your home or workplace.

    How do I share my location?
Meetup Organization Network logo

Want to learn more in person. Join the orgaizer network and see if there is a real life Meetup happening around you. There be people who have done this before, ready to help and you can be part of something special.

Join the org network